My 6-Month Plan To Quit 9–5 By Freelancing

Sunil Kumar
6 min readAug 21, 2023

I’m a Software Developer with 9 years of experience in the industry, mostly as a backend developer.

So far I have worked with 5 different companies. 3 of them are startups and 2 are unicorns in India.

Frequent job switches have helped me make a lot of money in my career. It has helped me purchase a car, invest in 2 real estate properties and so much more.

I owe a lot to 9–5 to where I’m now.

But the harsh reality of 9–5 is, as your climb up the ladder your stress increases as your responsibilities increase.

I don’t want to take this shit anymore and want to work towards quitting my job and building my own business online.

I’m this article, I’m going to talk about the 6-month plan I’ve set for myself to achieve it.

Let’s get started!

Background

The last 2 of the companies I’ve worked with are unicorns in India.

Despite the initial impression that I would achieve a good work-life balance when I spoke with HRs before accepting these offers, I doubt it will ever change.

Most of the companies who pay well, want you to slog long hours.

--

--

Sunil Kumar

I write about how to become a better developer, freelancing and making money on the internet. I can write articles that rank on Google. Available for hire.